I Write Therefore I Am

I’ve just been reading Jane Scorer’s post on thinkinGardens on the reasons why she writes about gardening. It has stimulated me to examine my own motivation.

Many years ago (more than I care to admit) I wrote a monthly gardening column for our local paper. I enjoyed it and my “Gardening Notes” were well received, but I stopped after 6 years.

Why? Mainly because I had been asked to write advice for beginners. In time it became repetitious, going over the same ground too many times. But the discipline of turning out a regular column was good, and I found I could write fluently without too many major alterations. I learnt to edit my work, to cut out the superfluous, and I learnt to type.

Time passed. I brought up two children, and (to my great surprise) I became an artist. But my horticultural passion was always there, even though sometimes I had little opportunity to get my hands dirty. I nursed my parents through their final years – they both enjoyed gardening – and eventually I found myself free to focus again on my garden.

As I worked – planting, planning, tidying, sowing – I found myself writing gardening articles in my head. I was talking to myself, attempting to clarify my thoughts. I needed to get them out of my head and onto paper – or more literally onto a computer screen (a word processor would have helped to when I wrote for the local ‘rag’!)

I had to start writing again. It’s part of my compulsion to create, whether it’s a new border, a work of art or a piece of writing – I am most happy when I am making something. A blog gives me freedom to write about what I want, how I want, and when I want. It no longer has to be 1000 words, intended for beginners and delivered on the 3rd Wednesday of the month.

Now I have the opportunity to explore this fascinating subject in depth – currently I’m using the blog to unpack my thoughts about my visit to Japan.

I’ve discovered a community of garden bloggers and each is different. They amuse, educate, provoke, challenge conventions and make me think. And you can have a stimulating conversation with someone on the other side of the world.

So far I have made little effort to publicise my Blog, apart from friends and family. This has been a conscious decision – I wanted to get back to writing regularly. Jane Scorer says that most bloggers pack up after four months. I have been blogging for two years.

So – to paraphrase Descartes: I think – I write – therefore I am. I do it for myself, to develop my ideas and to assert my existence in some way. And perhaps it’s time to throw my hat into the ring?

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close